What happened?

So upon attempting to remove songs from my IPhone, I realized how much things have changed since I’ve made a good dent in my thirties and am now looking at 40 through my sideview mirror “objects closer than they may appear”. I’m found myself “fiddling” with the “do hickey” that connects my phone to the computer, clicking this shit and that shit, disconnecting, only to find the songs still on there. So back I go with the blasted “stubby prong thingy” that won’t go in to the little “prongy hole thingy”- I’m sweating at this point. Many curse words and grunts and sighs later it worked! Normally I get my younger wife to take care of “my music”. I’ve found myself also struggling with things like, getting groceries, so much to look at, do little money. I used to spend hours doing my hair and make up, trying to look perfect, never leaving the house without it, now… It’s a ponytail, gym pants and no amount of make up can hide how tired I am or the “wisdom lines” I see lining my once youthful eyes. When I used to get excited for a night out with friends and having drinks and seeing bands.. Now, I get excited for a night in, no company, a hot cup of tea and listening to old vinyl in my house slippers.. When I was young I toyed with a variety of haircolors from bright red, bleach blonde, jet black and purple.. Now, I just wanna cover the greys. My favorite foods were filled with excitement and adventure. Mexican, Indian, Vietnamese, Thai, Jamaican.. mmm If I didn’t have to wash my face & change my shirt afterwards, it wasn’t eating.. Now.. let’s just say I could shut down an entire public washroom if I were to attempt that now.. I crave fresh salads and fruits, clean water & gingerale. I can’t work electronics anymore. I find myself lingering in the “pain reliever & ointment aisles” at the store. I find myself giving teenagers the “stink eye” and humming and hawing at infants on public transportation.. I’ve developed a thirst for crosswords, documentaries, the CBC and bacon. The other day I asked my wife if we could get marmelade.. I have tattoos! I once had my lip, tongue and belly button pierced.. People used to say I was “hot” although as I struggle to remove the corner of my drawers from beneath my right buttock, then scratch while I’m there because, “hey, when in Rome.” lol I find this highly amusing. I don’t know but the older I get, not only am I getting “fuddy-duddy-er”, I think I’m also turning in to an old man.. That is all for now, I’m off to sit on my deck and keep an eye on all the young whipper snapper shifty (this I am sure) neighbors.. Live Humbly, Be Gracious, Be Charitable..
Sparky

About SparkyLeeGeek

I'm a cheesy broad with a good sense of humor. I'm also a self professed geek, dog lover, Whovian and music snob. I have earned money by painting, I've worked in call centers, with dogs and in the fitness industry. I also write for Bubblews http://www.bubblews.com/account/165359-sparkylee74 and I have 2 separate blogs on Blogger: "My Whovian Take" a blog dedicated to Doctor Who and "Life in Fog Goggles" a blog dedicated to daily life and living with Fibromyalgia and CFIDS. I will be featured in an upcoming Anthology for HorrorAddicts.net titled "The Horror Addict's Guide to Life" My interests range from Doctor Who, dogs, and Science Fiction to Zombies, Humor and Astronomy. Creativity is my passion.
This entry was posted in aging, humor, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What happened?

  1. Diana says:

    Aw Sparky, you’re still hot! It’s not just what’s on the outside, you know 😉 I personally have always preferred older, mature men to the fresh-faced young’uns that were my age. And I regularly feel that way about women. Experience, knowledge, having actually DONE shit, is always sexier than just a pretty face.

    This article should give you a chuckle:
    http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/2823680/helen_mirren_beating_megan_fox_in_esquires.html?cat=2

    Don’t worry about what happened, enjoy what’s yet to come!

  2. sharon8643 says:

    Congratulations Sparky! I enjoyed your Blog and look forward to future pieces of humour and observations. The scariest thing is that I think of you as a young person so now that I know all your faculties are going too, holy shit I FEEL OLD!
    Cheers to you good friend!

    • Haha We’re only as old as we feel Sharon ; ) The secret is to always keep your drawers below the belly button.. This seems to be a common mistake as we age.. lol For both genders. ; p lol

Leave a Reply

