“Sit!” “Stay.”

If people behaved more like dogs, I wouldn’t hate them so much. LOL.. After a lengthy, depressing and soul shattering run in the call center industry working in Customer Disservice, my faith in the general public, society and humanity has all but disappeared. Everyone is so busy “survivin'” or “just gettin’ by” or the “same old same old”, that we’ve really taken a jump backwards, evolutionarily speaking. We’re too lazy to put in the efforts of performing the simplest of tasks that we’ve had to create computers and devices to do everything for us. Everything from changing the channel, washing our dishes and answering our calls down to starting our cars, buying and trading stocks to finding love. You can even buy devices that can remove the “physical” need for a “significant other.. Or so I hear.. *murmer murmer* lol. Basically we’re devolving from hunter/gatherers, learning to think and express ourselves. To lazy, “pass the bucks” doing everything to distract from actual human contact, and/or being open to learning new things, communicating with expression or even taking responsibility for our actions or mistakes. We get our food delivered, send a text instead of call, make excuses for shrugging off a natural duty to a friend or loved one. We don’t even try anymore to think outside of ourselves. To be “in a moment” instead of planning your next one. Really listening to someone instead of just waiting for your turn to talk.. Over the last couple of years, I’ve forced myself to step back from society. Not people, but society, it’s important to make that distinction. I’ve spent a lot of time with dogs. Friend’s dogs, worked at a dog daycare, did some dog sitting, all different breeds from Pitbulls to labs, ducktollers, shepards, collies, l’asa ‘apsas, huskies and mini dachshunds. They all taught me something.. Step back, pay attention to “now” be it a fun game of fetch with a very VERY excited pitbull. A ducktoller puppy with the bladder the size of a pea, a lab mix that got SO excited to see me she split lip. Twice. A very snuggly mini weiner that taught me when I just “had” to do housework, it was ok to nap on the couch for just a “little while longer”. A pitbull who when I woke in a grumpy mood on a weekday morning seemed to wag her tail and soak me with kisses just a little bit extra that day.. Dogs, often can sense how you feel before you can and they automatically react accordingly.. Going for walks we’re often in a hurry to just go and get back. Try doing that with an extremely active, curious and over the top cute ducktoller pup! While he was smelling everything in sight, I too, took in the summer smells of fresh cut grass and seasonal flowers. When a couple of neighborhood children begged to pet little Seamus, I watched their genuine smiles and giggles while the puppy’s tail vigourously whipped through the air. I guess what I’m saying is that, we need to cut back on the negativity, impatience, hostility and rushing through life. I have traded in my tattered, bullet hole ridden “customer disservice” badge in for a more relaxed, enjoy each day, try to live and speak from the heart, appreciating nature style of life.. My new life also traded in a lifetime of cats for 2 adorably loving mini dachshunds named Lucy & Riley. I paint for a living now, and instead of killing myself with, honestly, mundane tasks with no meaning, I take a lot of long blissful walks and many meaningful couch naps with my dogs..

Live Humbly, Be Charitable and Live Graciously.

Sparky.

20120428-174554.jpg

About SparkyLeeGeek

I'm a cheesy broad with a good sense of humor. I'm also a self professed geek, dog lover, Whovian and music snob. I have earned money by painting, I've worked in call centers, with dogs and in the fitness industry. I also write for Bubblews http://www.bubblews.com/account/165359-sparkylee74 and I have 2 separate blogs on Blogger: "My Whovian Take" a blog dedicated to Doctor Who and "Life in Fog Goggles" a blog dedicated to daily life and living with Fibromyalgia and CFIDS. I will be featured in an upcoming Anthology for HorrorAddicts.net titled "The Horror Addict's Guide to Life" My interests range from Doctor Who, dogs, and Science Fiction to Zombies, Humor and Astronomy. Creativity is my passion.
This entry was posted in communication, dogs, humor, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Sit!” “Stay.”

  1. sharon8643 says:

    “The more time I spend with people, the more I just want to be with the dogs” I’ve had that plaque for a loooong time and sort of used it as a life philosophy. Excellent insight Sparky! Loved the blog today!!!

  2. sharon8643 says:

    I love what you say and how you say it. If you’re like me though, your one regret is that your wife can’t do it with you. I would give almost anything if Peter could share this life with me instead of having to go to work all week.

  3. kimberlybuck says:

    I went to a party recently and couldn’t even get to know anyone new. Not because I’m antisocial but because in a room full of 30 people I was the only one NOT texting constantly. It’s very annoying. I think I’m the last person I know who actually makes phone calls with my phone. BTW thanks for fanning my blog!

Leave a Reply

