Please Be Kind. Rewind.

Wow Social Networking platforms are getting serious these days.. People are so “touchy” with their “comments”. In one week, ironically the same week many of our workers are on strike and or stuck without transportation within the city of Halifax, comments seem to be getting down right vicious. A lot of which could be easily cleared up if only one’s body language and tone simply shone through your written message. On some merit, it’s freedom of expression and we are so fortunate (for now) of being able to express ourselves in a public forum. However, at certain points I am ashamed to read things by people I know and respect. Has the internet taken away our last little bits of moral dignity? Would we so angrily display such deep serious levels of hostility if we were face to face seeing that we were each just people? Trying to get by day to day in an increasingly corrupt and futile system just the same as you are? Does it not occur to you, that we all poop? Everybody poops man.. I read that in a book once.. Or we all occassionally check over our shoulders prior to flushing as if to confirm that that was not an alien, baby and or watermelon you just crapped out. No, disappointingly so it was simply one of those misleading rabbit dropping sized turds that we’ve ALL begrudgingly experienced at least once in our adult life.. I mean what the hell man?? Thought I had a cucumber there what with the sweating, wincing and such.. Hmph.. I digress…
I guess I find it increasingly disturbing just how “free” we feel we can be on the internet. I certainly DO NOT agree with the alledged and attemptec internet restricting/tracing policies either. Let me be to the point of anally clear there.. I remember a time when people were just a little more respectful to one another. It makes me sad. Extremely sad.. Like when they cancelled Buffy the Vampire Slayer sad.. People ask me if I hate being home all the time away from people. I quickly respond “Hell no! I fuckin’ hate people!” People are just becoming more rude, egotistical, self serving and selfish as we go… The negativity in this world can be overwhelming. It really makes me consider permenantly deleting myself from both ‘FuckBook and ‘Shitter just to be free from other people’s bullshit.. It’s stinking up my personal bubble world and must go. *sigh.. Who am I kidding?? How then on earth could I keep up with all the real time news occuring, the entire cast of Coronation Street AND GhostHunters?? Yeah yeah.. A girl has her guilty pleasures.. don’t judge, for that would simply be rude and the last time I checked no one died and made you Judge Harry Stone on TV’s beloved ‘Night Court’ that also starred one of my early girl crushes in life, the delightfully cute and perky Markie Post who also played in another of my old favorites, The Fall Guy starring the indestructable and perpetually squinting Lee Majors.. Of course Lee was previously known as the Steve Austin (not the stone cold dude) the “Million Dollar Man”. I guess given today’s standards, that’d be more accurately represented as the $384 762.43 Dollar Man.. CDN I had his female counterpart, (naturally) Jamie Lee Summers, The Bionic Woman Doll.. It kicked much ass. Maybe too much for a 5 yr old… Anyhoo I digress.. Just sayin’..
Please Be Kind, Rewind..

Live Humbly, Be Charitable, Live Graciously,

Love Sparky.

About SparkyLeeGeek

I'm a cheesy broad with a good sense of humor. I'm also a self professed geek, dog lover, Whovian and music snob. I have earned money by painting, I've worked in call centers, with dogs and in the fitness industry. I also write for Bubblews http://www.bubblews.com/account/165359-sparkylee74 and I have 2 separate blogs on Blogger: "My Whovian Take" a blog dedicated to Doctor Who and "Life in Fog Goggles" a blog dedicated to daily life and living with Fibromyalgia and CFIDS. I will be featured in an upcoming Anthology for HorrorAddicts.net titled "The Horror Addict's Guide to Life" My interests range from Doctor Who, dogs, and Science Fiction to Zombies, Humor and Astronomy. Creativity is my passion.
This entry was posted in Halifax, humor, Opinion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Please Be Kind. Rewind.

  1. If you’ve ever experienced shitheads yelling remarks out the window of a moving car because they feel safely anonymous, you will understand the same model is in effect in the internet. Another fallacy the internet has exposed is the old one about an infinite number of monkeys with an infinite number of typewriters eventually leading to Shakespearean artistry by sheer random chance. I think we’ve had a reasonable statistical sample running for long enough to bury that one, and those of us who aspire to actually generate quality output know there’s absolutely nothing random about it.

    Really good work. Oh, by the way, it was “The Six Million Dollar Man” – even more expensive than you remembered.

    R

    • Thanks Randy! : ) It’s soo true isn’t it?? I’m ashamed to admit that I too, on one or two occasions, have yelled anonymously out a window lol .. I can’t believe I neglected to remember the true value of Steve Austin.. How embarrassing LMAO

Leave a Reply

