The Knight Writer…

;

My wife often asks me why it is that I so often stay up all night reading, writing or painting. I think to other artists out there, the answer is obvious. I was however, intrigued on writing a little explanation of my incessant nocturnal behavior.

My wife, our two dogs and I live in a modest two bedroom condo in the west end of Halifax. It’s in a cluster of closely built condo complexes that went up in a “boom” of growth in the late eighties, early nineties. From our balcony I am in direct sight line of not one, but eleven sets of neighbors. It’s not uncommon on any given day to be privy to a domestic dispute or poorly mannered children excitedly shouting cusswords at one another. Right below our balcony is the lawn which stretches around the perimeter of the property. It is a frequent occurence for me to sit on my deck with my dogs saying “hello” to the passing dog and their owners. It’s kind of funny that I never really take the time to get to know the human names but I could tell you the names of all the dogs that live in or near my complex. So there you see, my love for dogs outweighs my daytime productivity levels.

Another problem during the daytime working hours is that everyone seems to be in the mood to communicate as they go about their day. It’s not uncommon that I end up in a phone conversation with my girlfriend, Erika, in Toronto, or a hilarious text chat with my friend Heidi as we ridiculously point out the hilarities that may have, or possibly could ensue in the near future. My wife frequently texts me as well in between her clients. She’s a talker too. I am reminded of a text conversation that lasted a gruelling hour in regards to tablecloths when were in the midst of planning our wedding. God love my wife, but she’s a stickler for detail and frequently likes to bounce her plans and schedule off of me, even when I’m up to my elbows in dog pee. Then there are other, more pressing distractions like checking my Facebook News Feed and checking my Twitter feed regularly for news updates and to see what my favorite Coronation Street cast members are doing.

;

My dogs also have their pivotal role in my lack of daytime proficiency. You see, the problem, is that they are simply adorable. I sit down to type on the computer and at my feet appears my youngest pup, Riley. Mildly whimpering for my attention of which, I always oblige. After he finishes licking me to his level of satisfaction and has settled in my lap, I have often forgotten what it was I was going to write about in the first place. Then there’s my slightly older pup, Lucy who is a diva in her own right and demands your utmost attention when she determines it is time. She has thus earned the nickname, “L’il Princess” which she more than happily accepts. She demands frequent belly rubs and hugs and kisses. Who am I to deny her of this??

;

(Above- my youngest pup, Riley, Right, me being attacked by both Lucy and Riley)

Television. My arch nemesis. I am utterly convinced there are “de-motivational” rays that are being rhythmically pulsed forth to unsuspecting couch potatoes, like myself, to prevent us from getting anything productive done. In addition to the laziness that comes as a result of too much tv watching (chances are), I’ve also ran out and got a hamburger somewhere that was “On Sale” and am now groaning in pain, discomfort and much regret off in a corner somewhere..

Housework. Daytime is tidy up time. I have stated earlier that I have two dogs. Don’t let the fact that they’re miniature dachshunds throw you off. Trust me, they make their share of mess. I am regualarly picking up wet pee pads (we aren’t on a ground level so pads were the way to go for training) rogue turds, an seemingly unending amount of my wife’s socks, fluff out of stuffed animals and the odd knocked over clothes hamper as they selectively surf through the dirty laundry. Meanwhile, I’m vaccuuming, dusting, doing dishes, getting a shower etc. While the two of them speedily interweave through my legs, only stopping occasionally to jump up and demand a quick kiss or belly rub. By 4 o’clock, I am pooped! I need a few hours for tea, Coronation Street and time permitting, a quick nap.

;

Lastly, my dear wife. I have mentioned earlier that she’s a talker and it’s challenging sometimes to get through a twenty~one minute episode of my beloved Coronation Street let alone get through an 800 word blog entry or precisely painted pet portrait lol No, I love my wife. She has been a great source of encouragement and support over the past few years. I know I would never be as blessed enough to stay home and paint and write without her love and support. She remains a constant source of inspiration to me. It was she who inspired me to sit down and write this piece, and she who bought me the new computer to do it. So, Melissa my love, this is why I stay up all night rather than simply working throughout the day.

;

(My Wife and I on our Wedding day, Aug 13 2011)

So the next time one of you scoffs at me for still being in bed at 2pm on a weekday, remember that I have most likely, been up until 5-8 am working on some project like a mad scientist on a mission. Let’s face it, night-time, is just the right time to be creative, to be alone with your thoughts and to also, sit in your underwear, eating peanut butter from the jar with a tablespoon with no regret..

;

Live Humbly, Be Charitable, Live Graciously.

;

Sparky.

About SparkyLeeGeek

I'm a cheesy broad with a good sense of humor. I'm also a self professed geek, dog lover, Whovian and music snob. I have earned money by painting, I've worked in call centers, with dogs and in the fitness industry. I also write for Bubblews http://www.bubblews.com/account/165359-sparkylee74 and I have 2 separate blogs on Blogger: "My Whovian Take" a blog dedicated to Doctor Who and "Life in Fog Goggles" a blog dedicated to daily life and living with Fibromyalgia and CFIDS. I will be featured in an upcoming Anthology for HorrorAddicts.net titled "The Horror Addict's Guide to Life" My interests range from Doctor Who, dogs, and Science Fiction to Zombies, Humor and Astronomy. Creativity is my passion.
This entry was posted in dogs, life lessons, love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

