Drones: They Should Scare the Hell Out of You

Drones: They Should Scare the Hell Out of You

 Image

I read the news.  I consider myself somewhat of a “News Junkie” comparing sources, staying away from the mainstream as much as possible simply due to the over simplified and often fabricated content that floods our media today.  The thing that has frightened me the most recently, isn’t the 2012 Doomsday scenarios or the ever increasing natural disasters that face our planet; it’s the rapidly advancing technology of drones.  Drones are essentially military robots or unmanned vehicles that can fly or go underwater.  Some of these drones will soon have the capacity of destroying objects at the speed of light in addition, having an UNLIMITED magazine, making it a virtual “Death ray”.  This was released earlier this week in Time magazine when they interviewed someone close to the HELLADS program. HELLADS stands for High Energy Liquid Laser Area Defense System.  That title alone brings images of space age lasers and weaponry firing upon defenseless civilians in countries all over the world.  Most notably talk has circulated with Drone attacks in Pakistan, Yemen, Libya and Afghanistan.  The drones because they are unmanned can essentially converge on an area quickly and more efficiently than say an army brigade.  It’s becoming one of the U.S’s weapons of choice in recent years.  It seems like a cowardly weapon to me.  With no one to look face to face in the eye with when you murder an entire family or innocent bystanders, it takes the intimacy out of war. And by intimacy, I mean, a weapon that’s unmanned and remotely operated isn’t much different than playing a video game is it?  This way, we can take the emotion right out of murder, or War- as some people call it.  I would like to sheepishly pose the question, “Why is this allowed?” I mean, is it allowed? In the games of war and weapons races you don’t read much about other countries spending billions of dollars- not on necessities or medical care for the citizens-, but on expensive, ludicrous and over the top weapons.  Wasn’t there something recently where the U.S went in to another country with the sole purpose of looking for “Weapons of Mass Destruction”? I recall them causing quite a stir over the possibility of another country having the capabilities or technologies to essentially wage World War with the possibility of massive casualty rates.  I’m just saying, with all these “technological innovations” where does it end?  We don’t need any more of your War Machines.  We need to move away from this and work to rebuild our world not look for easier and sneakier ways to destroy it.  60 billion dollars could do so many wonderful things for your country.  Do governments still work for their countries?

Live Humbly, Be Charitable, Live Graciously,

Sparky.

Articles of Interest~

Next-gen US drone: now equipped with ‘death ray’ laser                                 http://rt.com/news/hellads-drone-predator-darpa-762/

Doubling the Threat: Drones + Lasers?

http://nation.time.com/2012/12/10/double-trouble-drones-lasers/

 

Drone strikes kill, maim and traumatize too many civilians, U.S. study says

http://www.cnn.com/2012/09/25/world/asia/pakistan-us-drone-strikes/index.html

About SparkyLeeGeek

I'm a cheesy broad with a good sense of humor. I'm also a self professed geek, dog lover, Whovian and music snob. I have earned money by painting, I've worked in call centers, with dogs and in the fitness industry. I also write for Bubblews http://www.bubblews.com/account/165359-sparkylee74 and I have 2 separate blogs on Blogger: "My Whovian Take" a blog dedicated to Doctor Who and "Life in Fog Goggles" a blog dedicated to daily life and living with Fibromyalgia and CFIDS. I will be featured in an upcoming Anthology for HorrorAddicts.net titled "The Horror Addict's Guide to Life" My interests range from Doctor Who, dogs, and Science Fiction to Zombies, Humor and Astronomy. Creativity is my passion.
This entry was posted in Drones, Politics, Technology, Violence, War and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Drones: They Should Scare the Hell Out of You

  1. Aliana says:

    i just want to say i like it and thanks. http://www.seomaster.com.br

  2. These are really great ideas in about blogging.

    You have touched some good factors here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  3. Admiring the dedication you put into your blog and detailed information you offer.
    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t
    the same unwanted rehashed information. Excellent read!

    I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  4. dermaplaning says:

    Definitely believe that which you said. Your favourite reason seemed
    to be on the internet the simplest factor to keep in mind of.

    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed at the same time as other people think about
    concerns that they just do not realize about. You managed to hit the
    nail upon the highest and outlined out the
    entire thing without having side effect , folks can take a signal.
    Will probably be again to get more. Thank you

  5. Kathleen says:

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself or did you hire
    someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thank you

  6. I think that is among the so much important info for me.
    And i am glad studying your article. However wanna commentary on few general issues,
    The web site style is great, the articles is truly excellent : D.
    Excellent process, cheers

  7. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention
    that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I am hoping you write once more soon!

Leave a Reply

