Dangerous Drugs: The Link between Psychiatric Drugs & Violence (Part 1)

ImageAfter the horrific shootings last week and hearing passing reports that the 20 year old shooter, Adam Lanza had been on anti depressants and remembering that past mass shooters  were also on antidepressants, made me research the prevalence of  medicating children and youths.  It appears to be unfortunately, very high.  I read about most of these horrific cases and discovered that most if not all were seeing professionals or taking some form of psychoactive drug.  There appears to be an overwhelming co relation to these drugs and violence.

Students like Kipland Kinke 15, years old, in 1998 shot 24 students; He was diagnosed with mental illness and on antidepressants.  Eric Harris 17 and Dylan Kliebold 18 in the Columbine High School shootings, they were on antidepressants.  I read about a few more shootings and researched the shooters some more.  (Read more: http://www.sfgate.com/crime/article/Deadliest-U-S-school-shootings-3454376.php#ixzz2FNCC66gr )

Is there a co relation to the number of these shootings to the number of youths, who are on these types of drugs?  The term psychotropic means that it alters or affects the mind and brain.  I found it not only shocking to learn that little kids with still developing brains are being put on these dangerous drugs but in most cases, the parents weren’t even made aware of the seriously severe effects of some of these drugs.  For example, some of the side effects to taking Ritalin include: nervousness, agitation, anxiety, irritability.  Some of the more serious effects include: Visual hallucinations, depression, feelings of suspicion and paranoia, high blood pressure, seizures, and infections (more info here: http://ritalinsideeffects.net/ ) these drugs work on the frontal lobe of the brain; this is the area in control of empathy and compassion.  Is it possible that these drugs are essentially lobotomizing the brains of our developing children and teenagers?  You take a teenager for example who is going through a barrage of adolescent strife, hormonal and physiological changes and then add a chemical that essentially cuts off a vital portion of that developing brain.  What if that child is just extremely sensitive?  Sensitivity is a spiritual aspect of one’s personality, is sensitivity now an illness that needs to be medicated?  It’s also been proven that many kids diagnosed with ADHD are actually gifted children.  When you look at the staggering statistics, the increase of suicide, particularly in children over the years have increased dramatically since the multibillion dollar industry began.  In most cases the drugs that are being prescribed to young people and children as young as 2 years old are given without any clinical testing.  Often a simple ten minute meeting with the child can determine whether they feel the child needs to be medicated.  There are no blood tests performed or routinely no extensive medical history taken before it’s determined that they need medication.  The whole science is really more of a pseudo science. Over the next few articles, I will be exploring the dangers of these widely prescribed drugs and the validity of psychiatry in general.  In the meantime, I urge you to research any behavioral drug a doctor suggests that you or your child may need.  Please be informed and stay tuned for my follow up article- Dangerous Drugs Part 2

Live Humbly, Be Charitable, Live Graciously,

Sparky

About SparkyLeeGeek

I'm a cheesy broad with a good sense of humor. I'm also a self professed geek, dog lover, Whovian and music snob. I have earned money by painting, I've worked in call centers, with dogs and in the fitness industry. I also write for Bubblews http://www.bubblews.com/account/165359-sparkylee74 and I have 2 separate blogs on Blogger: "My Whovian Take" a blog dedicated to Doctor Who and "Life in Fog Goggles" a blog dedicated to daily life and living with Fibromyalgia and CFIDS. I will be featured in an upcoming Anthology for HorrorAddicts.net titled "The Horror Addict's Guide to Life" My interests range from Doctor Who, dogs, and Science Fiction to Zombies, Humor and Astronomy. Creativity is my passion.
This entry was posted in drugs, Violence, youth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dangerous Drugs: The Link between Psychiatric Drugs & Violence (Part 1)

  1. Thanks for posting this Sparky. This is an important issue that should be addressed a lot more. You have done a great service here.

    I’ve noticed this and it is disconcerning to say the least. It seems physicans are in the pocket of drug companies who want to increase their profits at all costs. We as a society think we can medicate everything and everyone. This frightens me. Personally I’ve had some meds prescribed for me that have given me adverse effects and I know others who have as well.
    (The only pills I take are vitamins)

    I am on the spectrum (Asperger’s) and a great number of us are medicated and this alarms me as well. I have raised this issue with some others and have found some people on meds to be very defensive about it. I understand, I realise that once one’s body is used to something it is very difficult to go without….I don’t advocate going cold turkey but opening one’s eyes and learning about adverse effects could help—Knowledge is power….

    I don’t trust doctors anymore and that is not a healthy attitude I know. Medicating a child is serious and should be well-considered and all options weighed, this should not be just a matter of course.

    • I agree. I don’t trust doctors either. I was diagnosed “bi polar” years ago and for the last 20 yrs I have been given a multitude of drugs. Now- my central nervous system is paying the price & I’m not able to work anymore. I’m 38. It’s disgusting to me that it is common practice to chemically lobotomize children simply because they don’t sit still in school. I was also diagnosed ADHD so, I can remember how boring school was. I had to “use the washroom” a lot! These are gross times we live in..

  2. wow, very interesting, keep sharing these things with us, please. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

  3. your concept is right. i think this way too. thanks for explaining it well. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

  4. Stephanie says:

    I pay a visit day-to-day some blogs and websites to read content, however this webpage
    provides feature based articles.

Leave a Reply

