Zombie Fallout ~ A Book Review By Sparky

Image

This year for Christmas, my wife surprised me with quite possibly the best present ever. She bought me a Kobo touch complete with soft leather case with a cute little bendy lamp inside. Well, I would imagine she’s getting sick of seeing me carry around my new “sooky” as it now travels everywhere with me, including the ladies room. Oh don’t get all high and mighty, we all know from the fecal matter tests recently done on e readers and smartphones that y’all do it too. Don’t believe me? Click HERE http://gizmodo.com/5954598/your-smartphone-is-basically-a-poopstick Regardless, it’s proven to be one of the best presents I’ve ever gotten as I am an avid reader and have arthritis in my hands which makes it difficult to hold a large book sometimes. So off I went with my new E reader and accompanying $25 VISA gift card and began browsing immediately.

Image

I picked up my usual suspects, some Doctor Who fan fiction, a Bible, a Qur’an (I like reading both) then I took a tour through the world of zombie fiction. I found several great titles for less than 3 or $4 a piece. Then I hit the mother lode. I was really looking for a great new series. Having just completed the Twilight series (yes I was late) it made me crave for more multi book fiction. The series I stumbled upon is called, Zombie Fallout. The author is a prolific writer having written over a dozen titles since college including the Indian Hill series which is where we first meet the hero/protagonist of the Zombie Fallout series, Michael Talbot. Talbot is a southie (Boston) living in Colorado with his wife, three kids and English bulldog, Henry. The Fallout series focuses on a viral outbreak caused from tainted flu vaccines (cause that never happens) and Talbot’s struggle to survive with his family and a few people picked up along the way against not only your traditional zombie, but “speeders” as well. Speeders being the horrifically fast upgrade to your run of the mill foot dragging zombie. ImageTalbot’s a straight shooter, tough as nails, sarcastic as hell and one hell of a hero to sink your teeth in to. Tufo’s writing is clear, concise, witty and easy to read. It’s hard to put the books down and when I did I felt like a crack head looking for another $4 to get the next book only feeling immediate relief upon the “Thank You For Your Download” message. The imagery in the book is phenomenal, the gore is gross, and the wit is hysterically funny. Each book picks up where the last one leaves off and no stone goes unturned in detail. It’s creepy, it’s suspenseful, it’s everything you’d want in a zombie book and trust me when I say, Imageyou will NOT be able to read just one of the books. So prepare to be hooked from the first page. If you like the Walking Dead and zombies in general, please do NOT miss out on the spectacular series.

A side note: You do not need a Kobo to read Kobo books, try the free I Phone app!

For more information about the author, visit Tufo’s website at http://www.marktufo.com/

Image

Live Humbly, Be Charitable, Read Lots,

Sparky

About SparkyLeeGeek

I'm a cheesy broad with a good sense of humor. I'm also a self professed geek, dog lover, Whovian and music snob. I have earned money by painting, I've worked in call centers, with dogs and in the fitness industry. I also write for Bubblews http://www.bubblews.com/account/165359-sparkylee74 and I have 2 separate blogs on Blogger: "My Whovian Take" a blog dedicated to Doctor Who and "Life in Fog Goggles" a blog dedicated to daily life and living with Fibromyalgia and CFIDS. I will be featured in an upcoming Anthology for HorrorAddicts.net titled "The Horror Addict's Guide to Life" My interests range from Doctor Who, dogs, and Science Fiction to Zombies, Humor and Astronomy. Creativity is my passion.
This entry was posted in Book Review, E Books, Fiction, Zombie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Zombie Fallout ~ A Book Review By Sparky

  1. sharon8643 says:

    I must say that I have all your blogs but there are some I haven’t read yet, and, I don’t always comment, added to that, I don’t read Zombie books. You have written a book review that makes me want to want to start reading them. I won’t of course, bad dreams you know. I love your writing style and how you are able to get your true emotion come across to your readers. I would read any book you ever decide to write (even if it is Zombies). Keep up the great work!

    • Awe 🙂 thanks so much Sharon! I appreciate that : D and ps- you’re missing out! Lol it’s such a great series! 😉

      • sharon8643 says:

        I so wish I could, but the genre, in any medium is the one thing that gives me nightmares. As a teenager and wanting to fit in, I went to several graphic (for the times) movies and every time experienced nightmares and even day frights. After reading Stephen King’s, The Shining, I was convinced the old woman next door in the big, old, brown house, was going to kill us all. I realized I would avoid the scary and horrifying to ensure a good night’s sleep 🙂 It is only an honor to those who write and create these masterpieces. They make them too believable!

      • Haha awe- Sadly, I’ve been reading Stephen King since I was 10 & I’ve never looked back. The Shining is one of my all time favorite books! I love the movie too! ; ) I love the genre, but I can’t take gratuitous gore anymore. I used to be a gore movie addict, now it just makes me sick and fear people.. lol

  2. Mark Tufo says:

    I threw my phone away today, so thank you for that. Hi Sparky seriously though wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review my books. I’m glad you are enjoying the series! The review looks better than my blog!

  3. Pingback: The Zombies Are Coming! | Sparkyleegeek's Blog

Leave a Reply

