Live Strong

    Image I feel like I’m on the verge of a breakthrough.  By breakthrough, I mean through my most recent bout of depression.  I have suffered from depression for more than half of my life now, but it’s only now, as I approach 40 that I feel I am learning some great techniques with coping for depression.  I thought maybe, I’d pass a few along to you, avid reader. 

     The first thing is to recognize when your body is depressed.  Depression causes a chemical reaction in your body which then is felt on a very physical level in addition to emotionally.  You lose a job, a loved one, experience a break up or are ill, the next step is the chemical reaction then the physical.  So if you can recognize that something could very easily trigger a bout, beef up your immune system with lots of fresh fruits, veggies, water, limit your intake of caffeine, red meat and alcohol and start a good vitamin regime.  Look for vitamins that give you energy and cope with stress like a good B complex, vitamin D is also an essential source for energy, stress and immune support.  For more information look online for foods and sources of immune health- http://www.webmd.com/food-recipes/antioxidants-your-immune-system-super-foods-optimal-health once you strengthen your immune system, your body can better manage your symptoms.

      Image      The next thing I suggest is to have things on hand that make you happy.  This can be anything from movies to books to games or your pets.  I tend to go off in my own little world of reading and music when I am under the weather.  For the bigger stuff I write, and then a couple of years ago, I began painting.  Creativity is a great way to unwind and think through your problems.  It gives you quiet time and keeps your brain and hands otherwise engaged.  Rather than picking up a croissant the next time, grab a paint brush and some paints.  In fact, most dollar stores now carry inexpensive art supplies for the beginner, this is where I started.  Dogs are great too.  I know, I know, so are cats, but I’m a dog person and I have 2 very cute and affectionate dachshunds that always manage to put a big smile on my face with something as simple as rolling over on to their backs for a belly rub.

            Have a support system.  This one is really important, but may I stress that a support system does not mean makeshift guidance counselor.  We tend to make the mistake of involving our friends and asking advice a little too much and that can often drive a friend away if they are unable to help you.  What I mean by support system is having someone that you trust that knows you get depressed and what you need to snap out of it.  For example, maybe you have a friend that you go dancing with or shopping or eating sweet treats with, give them a call and simply state : “I’m going to need a night! Lol” ImageThe laughing is part of it because my last point I’d like to make is try to maintain a sense of humor.  I can tell you from experience, you are NOT the only one who has been depressed or suffered a loss.  Many of us have.  We can stew and complain about it or we can see it for what it is, deal and move on.  The best medicine for me has ALWAYS been laughter.  It really does change the chemistry in your body, you’re releasing dopamine like you do when you exercise (which is also important but you already know that.  When was the last time you laughed until your stomach hurt?  So the next time you feel like, you just don’t want to get out of bed, call a friend, go out and watch a comedy, you’ll be surprised at the results!

 

Live Humbly, Be Charitable, Live Strong

Sparky

 Image

Image Sources:

Depressed Woman~ http://www.stylefunda.com/index.php/depression-in-women/

2 Laughing Ladies ~ http://www.nvisolutions.com/blog/content-creation/how-to-inject-the-lols-into-your-articles/

Dachshunds~ My Babies!

Serene Scene~ 2009 Daniel Austin

About SparkyLeeGeek

I'm a cheesy broad with a good sense of humor. I'm also a self professed geek, dog lover, Whovian and music snob. I have earned money by painting, I've worked in call centers, with dogs and in the fitness industry. I also write for Bubblews http://www.bubblews.com/account/165359-sparkylee74 and I have 2 separate blogs on Blogger: "My Whovian Take" a blog dedicated to Doctor Who and "Life in Fog Goggles" a blog dedicated to daily life and living with Fibromyalgia and CFIDS. I will be featured in an upcoming Anthology for HorrorAddicts.net titled "The Horror Addict's Guide to Life" My interests range from Doctor Who, dogs, and Science Fiction to Zombies, Humor and Astronomy. Creativity is my passion.
This entry was posted in Depression, dogs, humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

