What is Beauty?

Beauty can mean different things to different people depending on who you ask.  As a creative type, I see beauty everywhere I go.  I see beauty in nature, in art, in music in people and animals daily.  Sometimes I note it with a simple Facebook Status or Tweet when I see a remarkable sky or pretty flowers.  We all do these from time to time.  It was common to see photos of things truly thought worth sharing with the world right up until sites like Pinterest popped up.  Now people share more pictures of food and jokes and light-hearted humor but the focus of beauty isn’t as prevalent in our fore thoughts anymore I guess.  I’m making a vow now, to ONLY share things with others if they are A) Truly useful B) Exceptionally Funny, or B) Breathtakingly beautiful.  Keep in mind, as previously stated I find beauty in a lot of things; here are just a few.

Image

In Daddy’s Hands

Most recently a colleague of mine became a father for the first time. I understand his partner was also going through being a first time mother but there was something exceptional in the way that Matt has faced it.  He writes frequently on the hopes of being a good father, the fact that he’s a young father just shows his level of maturity and his excitement for this phase of life.  I urge you read these 2 articles absolutely; Things I Will Never Do as a Father http://thegoldenvanguard.ca/2013/03/17/23-things-i-will-never-do-as-a-father/  And most recently after the birth of his son, To Infinity and Beyond http://thegoldenvanguard.ca/2013/03/27/to-infinity-and-beyond/  This is one thing that I find the most beautiful.

Image

I love my dog

I have a large network of friends who are also fellow dog lovers, the bonds and relationships we share with our dogs are second to none.  Many of us being quoted as saying, “As long as I have my dog, I’d be fine” The really beautiful moments are when it’s just me and my dog.  She’ll give me those eyes that tell me she just adores me to no end.  I often tear up during these moments which of course makes her lick my face giving me the illusion she’s comforting me, clearly she wants the salty tears but, I think we all like to think our dogs simply like to wipe our tears away.  I have a special connection to my dogs which is foreign to me having been a cat lover for so many years.  I have discovered that dogs are just really really cool cats.  Cats that you can take with you places, take on adventures.  Spend one on one time walking with, which I find a fantastic bonding experience for dog and owner.  Your dog earns your trust and they will trust you completely, until the end, no judgements.  Beautiful.

Image

My Wife & I on our Wedding Day- photography by Sambino’s Photography

My wife is beautiful.  She rescued me from a world of unending dead end jobs and constant firing (I have a chronic illness that only progresses) a world of unending, meaningless, loathsome jobs that meant nothing to me; I mean how could they?  No matter how hard I worked, I got fired for attendance for an illness I have no control over.  The depression was inescapable.  Until I met her, I really had mentally given up and was nearing physically giving up. She made me see I could find value in myself in other ways and has encouraged me immensely with my art and writing.  I know I would never be doing this without her support and love and her belief in me.  She works very hard for us and our little family, (our 2 dogs) and we get by okay.  Sure we can’t take vacations or go out a lot but our needs are met.  It goes to show that sometimes, all one needs is love.

Image

Early Morning Nova Scotian Fog

Beauty surrounds us daily in Nova Scotia, Canada, which I believe to be the perfect place in the world to live.  A beautiful morning to me is one that is warm and humid and overcast outside.  You step on to your deck and you know this is fog coming off the water.  You can taste the salt air on your tongue and at the back of your throat.  Sometimes, if it’s particularly foggy, you will hear the fog horns downtown at the pier.  I don’t know why I love those warm foggy early mornings other than the fact that to me, it just feels like home.  A beautiful evening is a walk down the harbor front on a clear summer’s night when the sky’s clear enough to witness the moon and stars gleaming off the harbor.  Couples stroll by in love, hand in hand and no one cares.  We’re all here for the same thing.  To immerse ourselves in the romantic beauty that is our waterfront at night.

Image

Halifax Waterfront at Night

The last thing of beauty that comes to mind presently is my favorite flower as well as scent in the world which also, just happens to be found in Nova Scotia.  Lupines; the long purple petaled beauty that grows along so many Nova Scotian highways and roadsides.  The smell is like a cross between lilacs and salt air making it a crisp, sweet smelling flower that always reminds me of summer.  I just feel compelled to pick just a few for a vase full at the beginning of every summer.

Image

Lupines of Nova Scotia

Live Humbly, Be Charitable, Live Graciously,

Sparky

 Related Articles/Image Sources:

Baby feet/Daddy hands~   http://www.123rf.com/photo_9290508_baby-s-feet-in-daddy-s-hands.html

Early Foggy Nova Scotia Morning~  http://www.photoguild.ns.ca/2011/12/20/field-trip-8-winter-solstice-sunrise/

Halifax Waterfront at Night photo taken by Flicker User UC Bluenoser http://www.flickr.com/photos/psteeper/4442193160/

Lupines in Nova Scotia/Nature Photography http://www.focusingonnaturephotography.com/page/115400202

My Wedding photo- Courtesy of Sambino’s Photography http://www.sambinosphotography.ca/

About SparkyLeeGeek

I'm a cheesy broad with a good sense of humor. I'm also a self professed geek, dog lover, Whovian and music snob. I have earned money by painting, I've worked in call centers, with dogs and in the fitness industry. I also write for Bubblews http://www.bubblews.com/account/165359-sparkylee74 and I have 2 separate blogs on Blogger: "My Whovian Take" a blog dedicated to Doctor Who and "Life in Fog Goggles" a blog dedicated to daily life and living with Fibromyalgia and CFIDS. I will be featured in an upcoming Anthology for HorrorAddicts.net titled "The Horror Addict's Guide to Life" My interests range from Doctor Who, dogs, and Science Fiction to Zombies, Humor and Astronomy. Creativity is my passion.
This entry was posted in Beauty, dogs, Halifax, love, Nova Scotia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What is Beauty?

  1. beautiful is you, Sparky… truly. don’t forget Mystique!

  2. The Golden Vanguard says:

    Wonderful article, Sparky. Thank you very much.

  3. Very inspiring post. I often wonder if others appreciate the different types of ‘beauty’ that I do, and I’m glad to know there is.

  4. Thanks my friend for sharing your beautiful world!

Leave a Reply

