The Benefits of Laughter

Image

Laughter

Laughter is an involuntary reaction that occurs to outside stimuli.  It happens during funny movies, upon hearing a good joke, watching someone slip and fall, or being part of a prank etc…  We even say that laughter is the best medicine. This is something I firmly believe in, having a chronic illness and chronic pain, I’ve often felt much better after watching some good stand up or one of my favorite sitcoms.  I only enjoy a few, Parks and Recreation is my current favorite with 30 Rock and Arrested Development as close follow ups.  I feel that laughter is an integral part of being human.  Myself?  I’m a big loud laugher, I’ve been told my laughter is infectious and have on occasion, garnered some shocked side glances, but this will not deter me.  My health is far more important than your lack of whimsy my friend.  I strongly urge you to remove the proverbial stick from your ass and just let go the next time you hear something funny and let your whole body laugh.

Laughter has been proven to

Boost your immune system

Increase creativity

Reduce Stress

Lower blood pressure

Break tension in a stressful situation

Improve your sex life

Ruin your sex life (if you do it during sex)

Break up the tedium of a crappy job

Cause you to pee yourself if you’re not careful

Be really inappropriate at a funeral

Unnerve someone when you use it as a response to a question

Laughter causes a neural chemical reaction through the release of serotonin and dopamine.  So, in the same way a good workout, or a good orgasm for that matter, is good for your health such is laughing.  Any of my past co workers know I have used it to break up a long boring shift of soul sucking customer service.  Dr Patch Adams knows it and still uses it as his main tool in healing patients.  Survivors of the Holocaust during interviews reported using it as tool to keep going in the horrible conditions they were subjected to.  If you ask neighbors of serial killers, they never say things like, “Oh Jeffrey, he was hilarious! Always had a joke to tell and a smile on his face…” No.  It’s always, “Oh Jeffrey, he was quiet, kept to himself, maybe a little brooding…”

Laughter is a universally known language.  It needs no words to make its point.  It knows no limits; it crosses barriers of age, intellect and cultures.  Laughter has been around since man could communicate and it remains as important as ever today.  I believe it to be a highly underrated tool in maintaining good emotional and physical health.

“Laughter is the best medicine” CTV…Meet the Laughologist http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GIRtjsWk6_I

‘Laughter Therapy’ Documentary on Laughter, part1/2 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FiwesPGx79Y

Image

Live Humbly, Be Charitable, Laugh Often,

Sparky

Sources/Related Articles

The Hidden Power of Humor http://psychcentral.com/blog/archives/2010/03/02/the-hidden-power-of-humor/

Stress Relief from Laughter? Yes, No joke.  http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/stress-relief/SR00034

Laughter Image http://www.anewinkonlife.com/photos/scrapbook_pages/laughter-happiness-delight.html

“Cleanse Yourself with Laughter” image http://apocketfulofdreamsbyct.blogspot.ca/2012_02_01_archive.html

About SparkyLeeGeek

I'm a cheesy broad with a good sense of humor. I'm also a self professed geek, dog lover, Whovian and music snob. I have earned money by painting, I've worked in call centers, with dogs and in the fitness industry. I also write for Bubblews http://www.bubblews.com/account/165359-sparkylee74 and I have 2 separate blogs on Blogger: "My Whovian Take" a blog dedicated to Doctor Who and "Life in Fog Goggles" a blog dedicated to daily life and living with Fibromyalgia and CFIDS. I will be featured in an upcoming Anthology for HorrorAddicts.net titled "The Horror Addict's Guide to Life" My interests range from Doctor Who, dogs, and Science Fiction to Zombies, Humor and Astronomy. Creativity is my passion.
This entry was posted in Fibromyalgia, Healing, humor, Laughter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Benefits of Laughter

  1. Tanya says:

    Being a friend of Sparky’s for 30+ years, I can attest to her hilarity! I never laugh as hard as I do when her and I are hanging out together! She has the best sense of humor ever, so I guess if laughter is the best medicine, then that makes Sparky “The Doctor”!

  2. Pingback: The Power of Laughter: Anti-Depressant | musings by melina

Leave a Reply

