Dating in the 21st Century

Image

Online Dating

I am so glad I’m not involved in the dating community right now.  There seems to be a disproportion of lonely women to less than desirable men out there.  Now, I myself, am gay and happily married, but many of my friends are still left treading water in the cesspool of dating.  I feel bad for these friends.  I occasionally try to the throw them a lifesaver to pull them to safety but once they get their second wind, they’re off again treading full force in to the unknown murky waters of dating..  Many of them are beautiful, educated, well spoken, intelligent, funny and compassionate women. Yet at the same token, the men they seem to be “matched up” with seemingly immature, self absorbed, selfish, shallow men who just want sex.  Where does this fit in with the feminine ideal of meeting a good man and settling down?  It doesn’t.  My single gal pals are all at their wits’ end with the never ending line of douchebags they encounter through the world of online dating.  I keep trying to get them to play for my team, but they say things like, “No, I’m not gay” or, “Please stop” (LOL) so the best thing I can do is just support my friends, take names and numbers when they go out on a date with someone new and hope for the best.

The stories I hear in the aftermath are less than quality dates and experiences.  My heart drops when I hear my beautiful friend has been subjected to a man that was affectionate, kind, sensitive and all the other things one would hope to experience on a date followed by a, “I haven’t heard from him since.” Or “He just dropped off the face of the earth” or “He has a girlfriend.” What the hell is wrong with you men these days?? Are you that afraid of a woman with a little intellect and strength that you go running the other way with your tail between your legs?  Is your self confidence that bad that you can’t handle dating a beautiful woman?  Does it bother you when a woman knows what she wants but you don’t so again, you run away like a coward dodging a draft?  If you ask men what they want, they’ll give you the generic answers, “Beautiful, strong, smart, funny.. etc” However, in reality, once faced with this, they don’t want it.  It seems most men would be happier with a busty, no brained, easy going, ‘do whatever you say’ Barbie doll that sits there constantly with a big shit eating grin plastered on her face serving him sandwiches.  So men, be honest.  If you don’t want what my friends have to offer, then stay the hell away and give them a chance at a real man!

Image

Meanwhile…

To the Men:

Pull your heads out of your arses long enough to evaluate:

A) What you want from a relationship

B) Whether you are actually READY to date or

C) Don’t date in numbers; choose women that REALLY intrigue you.  Next, don’t be a selfish prick.  Show some class and return a phone call, if you’re not in to the girl, be honest, a simple “I don’t feel the chemistry” would suffice, do NOT keep her hanging for weeks or months because YOU don’t know what you want or you’re waiting for something better to come along.

To the Ladies:

A)    Make sure you are absolutely ready to date.  If you’re fresh out of a bad relationship, wait a little while because, ALL the men you date, will be assholes.  When you carry negativity around, it will raise its ugly head in every encounter until you’re over it.

B)    Don’t date in numbers either.  If you don’t like to be treated like just another in a long line, then don’t do it to them either.  Develop standards and always follow them.

C)    If a man doesn’t call you back, don’t take it out on yourself.  There is NOTHING wrong with you, it’s him.  For whatever reason, he’s being a douchebag and there’s nothing you can do to change how a person behaves.

D)    Stay strong my friends.  Your prince will come someday, and although he may not be in that lovely “Brad Pitt” suit you may secretly desire, he is out there and sadly, you have to swim past a thousand slimy eels to get to the dolphins.

Image

Good Luck!

I hope this sheds a little light on what it’s like out there in the world of online dating.  For everyone 1 good man, there are approx 37 bad ones to contend with first.  And men, for God’s sake, own up and act like a man.  Return a call, be honest with a girl and stop trying to sexually conquer the world one lonely girl at a time.

Live Humbly, Be Charitable, Live Graciously,

Sparky

Image Sources:

Online dating couple http://www.iheartyu.com/

Online dating/football http://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/sex/online-dating/7213533/Online-dating-Love-is-just-a-click-away.html

Online Dating/ Woman http://datedaily.mate1.com/dating-tips-2/staying-safe-online-the-three-things-you-need-to-do/attachment/online-dating-2-2

About SparkyLeeGeek

I'm a cheesy broad with a good sense of humor. I'm also a self professed geek, dog lover, Whovian and music snob. I have earned money by painting, I've worked in call centers, with dogs and in the fitness industry. I also write for Bubblews http://www.bubblews.com/account/165359-sparkylee74 and I have 2 separate blogs on Blogger: "My Whovian Take" a blog dedicated to Doctor Who and "Life in Fog Goggles" a blog dedicated to daily life and living with Fibromyalgia and CFIDS. I will be featured in an upcoming Anthology for HorrorAddicts.net titled "The Horror Addict's Guide to Life" My interests range from Doctor Who, dogs, and Science Fiction to Zombies, Humor and Astronomy. Creativity is my passion.
This entry was posted in Dating, Men, Online Dating, relationships, sex, Women and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dating in the 21st Century

  1. Thanks so much for this. I’m a blogger out of Ceann Loch Shiphoirt, Great Britain and what I just read here on wordpress.com could not be said much better. Reading through this article kinda reminds me of my college roommate, Tabitha. He constantly kept preaching about this. I most certainly will send this material to him. Pretty sure he will have a very good read. I am thankful to you you for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

