Ritalin; I’m just Whacky

I’m one of those broads with diarrhea of the mouth.  Over the years I’ve seemed to have lost my filter.  You know the filter that prevents you from verbally vomiting all over your unfortunate listener.  I also have ADHD so I could be telling you about my day which will naturally lead to a story about my dog to the weather and this unidentified scratch I have on my face.  Which perplexes me because I do not remember scratching myself and I’m pretty sure it wasn’t a dog, I mean, I would have noticed that right? Fifteen pounds of doxie on my face sounds like something I would probably remember which reminds me this article I read on the news recently about women getting rubber injected in to their butts and paying for it, or silicone, I think its called silicone.  Did that originate in Silicon Valley?  Are there are a lot of big breasted women there?  May I see photos?  What kind of phone do you have?  I have an I Phone.  Anyway, back to my story, the women ended up getting industrial grade cement injected right in to their ass.  I mean, I’ve heard of “baby having back” but, really?? Rock hard ass right there, I would recommend against any water sports or boating activities in your future.  Have I mentioned I recently went off my medication for said “ADHD”?  I was taking Biphentin (Ritalin) which is used to treat ADHD in children as young as 6 it “allegedly” treats and minimizes restlessness in adults and children.  The primary ingredient is Methylphenidate,  this is a psycho-stimulant approved for treatment for disorders like ADHD, narcolepsy and postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome This is a drug that was originally patented in 1955 and approved by the FDA. (We all know how awesome the FDA are)..  “Keep on disappointing guys! Thanks!” The medication works virtually the same as every other psychotropic/ psycho stimulant does.  It magically tickles your serotonin levels with tiny feathers held by fairies.  The white fairies not the green ones, it’s important to make that distinction; the black fairies are looking for healthy kidneys to remove in the middle of the night while you sleep.   Guess what?  It’s the same bullshit science we’ve been hearing for other drugs.  Listen to the ads, read them closely.  Drug companies like the esteemed Novartis Corporation simply believe that this medication may affect serotonin and dopamine levels therefore altering your behavior.  You know what else alters my behavior?  A glass of wine.  A nice fat bowl in my Deluxe Daddy Herbal vaporizer, not having to take shit at a job I hate just to pay the bills.  I may believe your science is full of shit.  This was my dose:

30 mg
Each controlled release capsule with white body and blue violet cap, imprinted with “Biphentin” and “30 mg”, contains methylphenidate HCl 30 mg. Non medicinal ingredients: gelatin, hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, methyl acrylic acid copolymer, polyethylene glycol, sugar beads, talc, and triethyl citrate; capsule shell: FD&C Blue No. 1, FD&C Red No. 3, and titanium dioxide.

I took this medication for two years and yes, I had found myself being able to zone out more to work on projects or painting or writing for hours at a time.  I began to feel numbed out though.  Then one day, I passed out.  I started having massive headaches, became very tired and started showing some issues neurologically, tremors, loss of vision, dizziness all the time, my speech has been affected and I slur a lot more now, I wasn’t able to eat anymore in the mornings then that stretched out the afternoons and I began taking my meals late at night.  I just wasn’t feeling good.  I had been doing some previous research on these types of widely prescribed drugs and in my experience,  I think it made me worse, not better.  It wasn’t until a year of vomiting daily that I decided to wean myself off this drug after talking to my doctor.  I explained to her my symptoms and concerns and she helped me devise a plan.  I’ve been off them now for almost 5 months and I think I’m going to keep it this way.  I’m still very anxious and of course my train of thought isn’t always in the correct order often starting with the caboose and then moving to the dinner car, stopping at the gift shop only to awkwardly begin at the front again. I’m a little weird anyway so- be it.  This is me.  I refuse to take these barbaric, brain fucking drugs that have destroyed people all over.  Y’all want to take the guns?  I say take these useless drugs out of the equation and bring back actual parenting and nurturing in the community instead.  I am just happy to say that I am no longer “part of the problem”

Please note: I in NO WAY am saying to stop your prescribed medications.  Always discuss this with your doctor first so that they can reduce dosages causing less stress to your body.  Stopping medication all of sudden can lead to serious issues like seizures.  This was just my own personal experience and a way to let my readers know that if I get a little crazy in my future writings, please forgive me.  I’m just whacky like that.

calming-sunset-larry-keahey

Calming sunset by Larry Keahey

Live Humbly, Be Charitable, Live Graciously,

Sparky

 

Sources:

The Canadian Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Resource Alliance http://caddra.ca/cms4/

Drug Fact Sheets/ Biphentin   http://chealth.canoe.ca/drug_info_details.asp?brand_name_id=4653

Wikipedia/ Methylphenidate   http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Methylphenidate

Calming Sunset postcard/ Artist Larry Keahey   http://fineartamerica.com/products/calming-sunset-larry-keahey-greeting-card.html

About SparkyLeeGeek

I'm a cheesy broad with a good sense of humor. I'm also a self professed geek, dog lover, Whovian and music snob. I have earned money by painting, I've worked in call centers, with dogs and in the fitness industry. I also write for Bubblews http://www.bubblews.com/account/165359-sparkylee74 and I have 2 separate blogs on Blogger: "My Whovian Take" a blog dedicated to Doctor Who and "Life in Fog Goggles" a blog dedicated to daily life and living with Fibromyalgia and CFIDS. I will be featured in an upcoming Anthology for HorrorAddicts.net titled "The Horror Addict's Guide to Life" My interests range from Doctor Who, dogs, and Science Fiction to Zombies, Humor and Astronomy. Creativity is my passion.
This entry was posted in ADHD, FDA, Health, Opinion, Psycho Stimulants, Ritalin and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ritalin; I’m just Whacky

  1. Jas Baku says:

    Jeez. They really just seem to love screwing us up with legal drugs, don’t they.

  2. Pingback: the Medication Merry-Go-Round | Cosmic Loti

  3. Ritalin surely is an amazing ADHD and ADD medication and I have been using it since years as well. This medication really works and makes you feel better.

Leave a Reply

