Project O: Where Your Opinion Matters

8349225_orig

Yep.

It seems everywhere you go these days, everyone has an opinion.  An opinion of Miley Cyrus’ booting popping at the VMAs, how Kate Middleton looked post baby ejection, the taste of Pepsi over Coke and who they think will win American Idol this season.  The unfortunate fact is that none of this really matters in the grand spectrum of life and to be frank, when you ask the majority of people surrounding you what they think of the recent devastation in the Middle East, particularly Syria, you will be met with that dreadful “deer caught in the headlights” vacant stare.  You know that person is quickly scanning their brain for an appropriate response but is sadly coming up with previously failed lottery numbers and what time their favorite program is on instead.  A fellow blogger, The Blurred Line recently participated in a campaign regarding the importance of maintaining our opinions and the value of the freedom to do so, Check out her post Here:  This campaign has been started by peer Blogger, HarsH ReaLiTy you can read his original article titled,My Rant: Project O – The Right to OpinionHere:   The campaign is geared to raise awareness on the value of opinions in hopes of raising more and maybe possibly open a global dialogue.  You can find more information below, the click the template link.

Template Here

sflkODW

Yes. Please Do.

Question 1: Please provide a window into who you are, some background information in a not too overwhelming profile here.

I’m Sparky Lee Anderson which is my pen name.My Websites are as follows:   https://sparkyleegeek.wordpress.com/ (Personal Blog)

http://thecaninecompanion.wordpress.com/ (Dog Blog)

http://sam-clattenburg.wix.com/sparkyleedesigns (Art Website)

Twitter @LezGeek

LinkedIn   SparkyLee Anderson

I’m a woman of few words unless I am writing or expressing my opinion on something.  I’ve always marched to the beat of my own bongo since I was an awkward child.  I’m a writer, reader and philosopher and I spend way too much time with my dogs and books inside then I do in the vastly scary, politically incorrect and all around nightmare that we refer to as “Society”

Question 2: If you haven’t already done so please provide your country of origin, whether you are male or female, an age would be nice, and where you currently live if that differs from the country of origin.

I am a proud Canadian, gay woman living in Nova Scotia, Canada where my legal wife and IMG_5851_2lowresI live openly and honestly, we share our home with our dogs.  I have lived in Halifax Nova Scotia for the majority of my adult life, although I have also lived in St. John’s Newfoundland, Edmonton, Alberta and was born in Oakville Ontario. 

Question 3: Recount the first time you remember having a differing opinion from someone significantly older than you.

opinions

I grew up outside the city in a mostly undeveloped area where everyone’s yard consisted of woods.  I also grew up in a blue collar home with a family that was largely uneducated and in most cases, ignorant of what was right and wrong.  One of my earliest childhood memories consist of an altercation where my cousin and I, as well as our mothers were held at gun point in our drive way from a local who claimed our family years back had stolen his family’s property.  This in itself sounds awful, however the worst part was that this family was black and we were very white.  We weren’t just white, we were redneck white, complete with farmer’s tans and cigarette packs tucked firmly and menacingly under T shirt sleeves.  The men were loud; they drank and swore like, well, mechanics (grease monkeys) do.  Now, as a child I was frightened of this stranger, not because of the color of his skin but because of the large shot gun he had pointed at our car.  This family feud ensued for many years and for many years I heard the “N” word freely and frequently despite the fact that it made me cringe.  It sounded so ugly.  I was born in the 70’s so I was around during the TV phenomena “Roots” although I wasn’t permitted to watch it due to the violence, I caught clips during my many trips to the washroom, and as I aged and it was re ran later on I caught more.  The series hit home with my parents.  They were appalled at the unjust treatment of slaves back in those days in early America which only led me to wonder why they were so afraid of this man’s skin color.  It made no sense to me even at 3 or 4 years old.  (It was before I started school).  Even after the success of Roots which I thought surely would teach people to learn respect for people no matter their color.  Naive child I was, the “N” word was still being floated around my home like a massive green stench cloud.  As I got older and learned how to argue my opinions better, I took every opportunity to join in on Black History Awareness months at school to promote kindness and acceptance; to fight racism. One of my only friends in a junior high where I was relentlessly bullied, Maria, she was black,  She was funny, she was really pretty, I envied her flawless skin and smart and the best part was she liked the same kind of music as me.  How could my family think anything other than wonderful things of my friend?  At 16, I boldly posted a pin on the back of my Father’s work jacket where he would not notice (to which he wore later at the garage he worked at) that said simply, “Let’s Stop Racism!”  He came home angry at first but then managed to laugh it off.  My father’s opinions in his older age have changed drastically from his reckless youth.  I became proud of my father after he quit drinking but even prouder after he stopped using the “N” word.  I felt like my persistent opinion may have had something to do with that.  I’ve always loathed having groups of people lumped together negatively, people individually are ignorant, wrong, commit acts of violence and sometimes evil.  How that justifies the persecution of an entire innocent race was always beyond me, even at 3.

 Question 4: What levels of respect were practiced around you when you were a child?

My father’s famous words to me when I was a child were that “Children don’t speak until spoken to.”  This resulted in a mousy shyness that I carried through to adulthood.  I referred to any of my parents’ friends as aunts and uncles because it felt more endearing and polite.  I was a very polite, quiet child.  There was much fighting in my home growing up and I was exposed to more than my fair share of curse words although I was terrified to let one slip in the presence of my mother.  My parents were very strict and I received very little attention so when I managed to get someone’s attention I always tried to be friendly and talkative but to never interrupt my friend because, they might smack me- that’s what you got when you interrupted at my house.  The way my parents spoke to one another was far less than respectable.  I’d venture to guess it would be the exact opposite of respectful.  I always behaved properly in public, partly because I wanted people to like me but also out of fear of what my mother would say when I got home.

 Question 5: How traveled are you and to what degree do you keep up with international news?

Sadly, due to financial difficulties (that of being flat on your ass broke) I have never left my home country of Canada.  I have traveled to different parts of Canada.  Shout out to Newfoundland, Alberta and Ontario (you smug fucks).  I have to say though; I have a strong desire to visit many European countries; Mainly Italy, Japan and the Ukraine.  I keep up with current events and world news daily, often several times a day.  I have learned over the years to not put stock in most mainstream media sources.  I prefer outlets like Al Jazeera,   RT (formerly Russia Today   Drudge Report   , Info Wars   The Guardian   as well as The Natural News  I refuse to watch mainstream media news shows and prefer the articles written by independents with reliable and knowledgeable sources.  I follow mostly news feeds on twitter and my constant presence online keeps me pretty securely in the loop.

Question 6: If you could share an opinion on a single international incident or topic that you either feel strongly about or that might not be known to the rest of the world what would it be? You have our attention.

My frustration lies within the fact that several world events with devastating outcomes have been lies by the very governments that swear to protect its citizens.  World war games seem to be a daily occurrence now with some parties sinking to lows of killing innocent people and children to prove and promote their own agendas based solely around the blood lust of greed and power.  Many of these attacks are being staged and it’s not as we as the indignant ignorant sheeple are being told, it is the very people we trust to protect us and make reasonable choices for the good of our country and ultimately the world who are actually secretly destroying it.  It’s a ruse; our security is a false and mainly applies only to the elite and wealthy.  Our freedoms are being broken down to a quick feel up at the airport each time you board and having RFID chips in all your major cards, credit and identification.  Look at the state of elections.  Do you REALLY believe THAT kind of power REALLY lies within the general and under privileged people?

Question 7: What does the right to an opinion mean to you? Is it essential to freedom to have this right? How far would you go to protect that ability? The world is on fire with people of passion, how passionate are you about things you value?

My right to an opinion basically allowed me to marry my same sex partner so I would say the right to an opinion is integral to the development of human development and in turn for the development and progression of society.  Change starts with an opinion and grows from there.  All the greatest scientists and doctors began with an opinion which then flowered in to modern medicine (prior to the drug pushing period we are in now).  It broke down walls between whites and blacks, East and West Germans and even allowed an openly transgendered man to perform on one of Americas’ popular dance programs, Dancing with the Stars.  Shout out to Chaz– nice one Buddy!  I would openly march and write like mad if my right of free speech was taken away from me.  I see myself rotting in a prison somewhere wearing the same underwear I came in there with.

 

Question 8: Is it ever right for you to be allowed an opinion while someone else is denied that same right on the same topic?

I think we are beginning to witness this more and more each day.  Particularly online where companies like You Tube, Twitter and Facebook now have the ability to censor and report certain usage and material which may result in having your accounts shut down.  Now I myself speak my mind frequently on these sites but I can also discern what content may be seen as “Inadvisable” so I learn to keep certain things to myself.  I feel like anyone who is in a position to almost certainly NEEDS to speak out more than ever, if not for us but for those unfortunate enough to not be able to freely express their own.

warning_contains_opinions_that_may_offend_you_mous_mousepad-p144587535102567648trak_4001

Question 9 and the final question: Upon completing this template and hopefully contemplating the issue what does this project mean to you? How can Project O potentially enlighten or help the world?

This project not only pulled me out of a very dry writing stint,  the material speaks to me as it’s something I frequently complain about; How can some people literally have no opinion?  I have an opinion on everything politics, films, books, colors, breads, coffee flavors, and most importantly news; World News.  I feel it goes largely UN noticed by the general public when shit like Hollywood Gossip and sports statistics are on the tips of the tongues of the majority of the sheeple we encounter.  It made me sit down and really think about some of my own opinions, and as writers, we never tire of our own inner dialogue.  My hope for this project is that it reaches many readers across the globe to stir and help formulate more opinions.  Maybe, just maybe we can help re pave a currently bumpy path in the new world we are about to encounter.

Peace

Live Humbly, Be Charitable, Live Graciously,

Sparky

 

Sources/ Images

HarsH ReaLiTy http://aopinionatedman.com/

The Blurred Line   http://furrynuff.wordpress.com/

Warning: Contains opinions…”   http://www.downtowndharma.com/index.php/2011/10/26/the-problem-with-opinions/

“Get some opinions…”   http://www.downtowndharma.com/index.php/2011/10/26/the-problem-with-opinions/

Pigs and duck cartoon   http://wronghands1.wordpress.com/2012/11/09/opinions/

“Got an opinion?”  (which also happens to be a great debate site)    http://www.newerapolitics.org/citizens-opinions.html

Al Jazeera English   http://www.aljazeera.com/

RT (Russia Today)   http://rt.com/

Canadian Flag Photo   http://www.theflagstore.ca/store/shop/sewn-nylon-canadian-flag/

The Drudge Report   http://www.drudgereport.com/

Info Wars   http://www.infowars.com/

Don’t Let them scan you..   http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/dont-let-them-scan-you-blocking-rfid-chips/

About SparkyLeeGeek

I'm a cheesy broad with a good sense of humor. I'm also a self professed geek, dog lover, Whovian and music snob. I have earned money by painting, I've worked in call centers, with dogs and in the fitness industry. I also write for Bubblews http://www.bubblews.com/account/165359-sparkylee74 and I have 2 separate blogs on Blogger: "My Whovian Take" a blog dedicated to Doctor Who and "Life in Fog Goggles" a blog dedicated to daily life and living with Fibromyalgia and CFIDS. I will be featured in an upcoming Anthology for HorrorAddicts.net titled "The Horror Addict's Guide to Life" My interests range from Doctor Who, dogs, and Science Fiction to Zombies, Humor and Astronomy. Creativity is my passion.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Inspiration, Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Project O: Where Your Opinion Matters

  1. Thanks for the submission and for taking part in Project O!

  2. Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    I really like the answers given here and this provides a clear insight into how strongly people might feel about certain issues. Well done! -OM

  3. bethbyrnes says:

    Loved the whole post and absolutely adore the graphics on this page!

  4. Hedwigia says:

    Great post, though I think it is arguable whether Japan is part of Europe… 🙂

    Oh, yes, Roots. I’d forgotten that. Powerful stuff.

  5. Loved the post and the questions posed. What is that intrinsic aspect in our core that compels us to voice opinions? How does this behaviour to voice opinions, even when unwarranted, serve us?

    Shakti

    • I think it’s more about discussing ideas. If discussions ceased all together, we’d never evolve. We’d never have abolished slavery, gave women the vote or allow gays and lesbians to marry their significant others. Change is necessary in the world in order to move forward. This is why I think it’s important to maintain and voice opinions. Thank you for reading 🙂 Cheers!

  6. I really appreciated the fact that your answers showed you actually cared. You actually thought about this template before writing your responses and you aren’t writing to self promote some book. I really appreciate your responses, thanks for taking the time and well done. -OM

Leave a Reply

