The Zombies Are Coming!

Image

The history of zombies extend back to Haitian Voodoo folklore.

According to the Oxford English Dictionary, the word “zombie” first appeared in English around 1810 when historian Robert Southey mentioned it in his book “History of Brazil.” But this “Zombi” was not the familiar brain-eating manlike monstrosity but instead a West African deity. The word later came to suggest the vital, human force leaving the shell of a body, and ultimately a creature human in form but lacking the self-awareness, intelligence, and a soul. It was imported to Haiti and elsewhere from Africa through the slave trade. (http://www.livescience.com/23892-zombies-real-facts.html)

It’s through film that we, through a few generations, have become fancied with the idea of The Walking Dead covers_0zombies. And why not? They’re scary, grotesque, they rely on brains for sustenance and in recent years with zombie advances in such films as “Dawn of the Dead” (2004) the classic Romero remake directed by Zach Snyder and “World War Z” based on the novel by Max Brooks and directed by Marc Forster, they’re faster, stronger and more frightening than ever. Since the AMC adaptation of the Robert Kirkman comics, “The Walking Dead” has spawned a whole new generation of zombie fans. In 2000, we saw the beginning of the annual “Zombie Walk” parades being hosted in many major North American cities bringing out a whole new underground (yet fashionably trendy) movement; ambling slowing, dragging one foot behind to a city near you.

I’ve always loved zombie fiction. My mother was an avid comic book collector and horror aficionado, this love was passed on to me in the same measure as my hips and thighs were. Since a kid, in the late seventies/early 80’s I’ve been a glutton for horror and gore. I used to pride myself on my gore film collection, sadly as I have aged and the art of gore make up and effects have progressed (Human Centipede) I don’t have the stomach for it like I once did. I still enjoy Zombies, I dare even say they are my favorite out of the typical ghoulish creatures that we’ve become accustomed to being splashed across written pages and on the small and big screens.

I have always admired the art of the George Romero film. He of course made waves on the big screen in 1968’s “Night of the Living Dead” even in black and white it was terrifying at the time; the dead unsuspectingly coming back to eat the brains of the living? How horrifically awful and sinister. Many people are under the impression that Romero introduced zombies in to film culture history but it was actually a film released in 1928 called White Zombie (Rob Zombie must have been a fan) starring Bela Lugosi.

In addition to all the George Romero films, I have enjoyed immensely, films like “Shaun of the Dead” (2004); “World War Z” (2013); “28 Days Later” (2002); “28 Weeks Later” (2007); the entire “Resident Evil” series (2002, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2012 with a sixth installment planned for 2015); “Zombieland” (2009); “Dead-Alive” (1992 which was particularly gruesome for a senior in high school); “Planet Terror” (2007, part one in Quentin Tarantino/Robert Rodriguez’s’ “Grindhouse”); “Diary of the Dead” (2007). It’s pretty much a given if it has “… Of the Dead” in the title, I’m going to at least check it out.

A couple of years ago, my wife surprised me with a Kobo e reader and from there I dove in to a world of written zombie fiction, and when it’s written well, it’s just as good if not better than watching it on the screen simply because our minds are not as limited as a film zombiescrew and budget may be. I discovered a phenomenal author, Mark Tufo and his gem of a series, “Zombie Fallout”. If you’re a fan of the “zombie apocalypse” scenario, you’ll LOVE Tufo. I even wrote a review of the series which you can find here:

https://sparkyleegeek.wordpress.com/2013/01/15/zombie-fallout-a-book-review-by-sparky/

It’s currently a 7 book series but 8 is just around the corner.  

It’s because of my love of anything zombie-related that I jumped at the chance to sign up for the 2014 Summer of Zombie Blog Tour. This is a month long event that’s bringing 33 zombie authors and bloggers together as we bloggers host one author and feature them on our own blog. My date is Wednesday, June 18th. Leading up until then, I will be pumping up my readers for the event. I’ll be talking about zombies a lot for the next month or so, be prepared for the stench of rotting corpse meat, rotten flesh hanging off dirty bones that are broken exposing the decaying black marrow inside now being feasted upon by maggots. Watch out for speeding zombies rushing at you while you frantically run towards the first door you see, praying it has several deadbolts to keep the dead out. I hope you are stocking up on chainsaws, ninja swords, pick axes and baseball bats wrapped in barbed wire for arsenal. I hope you get used to eating garbage and whatever you can find as you loot and run from the zombies, unless of course you are bitten, in that case I hope you look forward to your new diet of human brains, the warmer and juicier the better.

For more information on the 2014 Summer of Zombie Blog Tour, check out the Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/events/286215754875261/

 

Live Sparingly, Fight Hard, Kill Zombies,

Sparky

zombie woman

Sources/Images

Zombies: Real Facts http://www.livescience.com/23892-zombies-real-facts.html

Zombie Fallout books by Mark Tufo  http://www.marktufo.com/books.html
George A. Romero’ s Zombies Dawn of the Dead Movie Poster http://wrongsideoftheart.com/tag/george-a-romero/
Zombie Woman photo http://www.fearnet.com/news/news-article/zombies-enter-debate-state-senate
The Walking Dead Comic Books http://archives.deccanchronicle.com/130108/lifestyle-booksart/article/walking-dead-was-2012s-top-selling-comic

zombies-eating-meat-hd-wallpapers

Zombie Eating flesh   http://www.justphotographer.com/10-high-quality-zombies-wallpapers-hd/

 

 

 

About SparkyLeeGeek

I'm a cheesy broad with a good sense of humor. I'm also a self professed geek, dog lover, Whovian and music snob. I have earned money by painting, I've worked in call centers, with dogs and in the fitness industry. I also write for Bubblews http://www.bubblews.com/account/165359-sparkylee74 and I have 2 separate blogs on Blogger: "My Whovian Take" a blog dedicated to Doctor Who and "Life in Fog Goggles" a blog dedicated to daily life and living with Fibromyalgia and CFIDS. I will be featured in an upcoming Anthology for HorrorAddicts.net titled "The Horror Addict's Guide to Life" My interests range from Doctor Who, dogs, and Science Fiction to Zombies, Humor and Astronomy. Creativity is my passion.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Fiction, Films, Horror Films, Zombie, Zombies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Zombies Are Coming!

  1. Reblogged this on Armand Rosamilia and commented:
    #SummerZombie Is Coming!

  2. this year i would like go with Zombie Dawn Child Costume it is awesome.

Leave a Reply

