A Good Book

Originally Published on my Blog at Bubblews- http://www.bubblews.com/news/4328650-a-good-book

Love Books!

Love Books!

What is it about a brand new book that’s so appealing? Is it the promise of being taken on a new and exciting journey? Is it the prospects of meeting and falling in love with new characters? Is it the subject matter that excites you? Or is it an author you love with a brand new title out?

I have been a reader since before I was in school. I started off with the usual suspects, Alice in Wonderland was my favorite tale as a child. My middle name is Alice so I imagined that it was me falling down the rabbit hole and me talking to the hookah smoking caterpillar, eating cakes to be bigger and biting mushrooms to become smaller. I pretended that Alice’s cat, Dinah, was my cat and we would have fun flitting about the backyard, snoozing under shady trees and chasing white rabbits in waist coats. I had a very vivid imagination as a child and I think that’s what effectively creates a capable writer in later years.

I also enjoyed ALL the Beverly Cleary and Judy Blume novels as a wee girl. I loved how mischievous Ramona was and how funny Fudge, the younger brother of fourth grader, Peter Hatcher (Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing) is as he simply loses his mind over the arrival of an unexpected baby “Tootsie” in the family as the newborn receives all the attention. “Are You There God, It’s Me, Margaret” is a book that EVERY young woman should read, it basically guided me through puberty. These were great books to read as a kid and if I ever had children myself, reading would be a daily activity as I introduced them to these and the world of Doctor Seuss, Roald Dahl, and Maurice Sendak’s brilliant 1963 masterpiece, “Where the Wild Things Are”.

As I approached my teens, my reading tastes changed. I went for darker, more creepy fiction. I started reading Stephen King when I was 10 years old, later on I discovered Dean Koontz and Anne Rice and from there my reading choices have blossomed in to a plethora of tastes ranging from historical biographies, books about war, Zombie Fiction, Serial Novels like Charlaine Harris’s “Sookie Stackhouse” books from which the HBO series, “True Blood” is based, and heartfelt tearjerkers that make you go through an entire box of Kleenex until you finally finish. One of my new favorite authors is Mark Tufo, creator of the “Zombie Fallout” series (available on Kindle and Kobo- the 1st book is free!). Zombie Fallout is currently a 7 book series with the 8th dropping in August. I have read all seven. It follows one man fighting to keep his family and friends together as they progress through the new world that is the zombie apocalypse. His books are filled with horror, gore, humor and incredibly likable characters; the books wouldn’t even be the same without the mean old bitch “Deneaux” that everyone hates and has it in for the book’s protagonist, Michael Talbot.

There’s something comforting to me about curling up on the couch or my bed with a blanket, my dogs and brand new book. The possibilities seem endless as I anticipate seeing the world through someone Else’s eyes. I equate it to watching a movie, only it’s in ULTRA HD. A movie where you yourself create how your characters look, a world that you interpret from an author’s eyes, it’s sometimes like connecting to someone through words despite being oceans away.

Sure, books may not have the same texture and smells as they once did as we convert over to EPUBS and Kindles, but the words are the same. I still await the journey of the written word with an excited fervor that rivals opening night of the latest Star Wars installment or Harry Potter something. I am always full of hope on that first page, sometimes my expectations aren’t met- there are still crappy writers out there, but there are A LOT of great ones waiting to be discovered. I am really in to Indie authors lately; as more and more authors turn to the world of self publishing to get their written works out there, it’s now easier than ever to pick up a great book for $.99 or $2.99 which is still WAY cheaper than heading to your local bookstore. I literally have hundreds of books just lying in wait to be read. Today I’m reading my most recent purchase from the Kindle store, “Moribund Tales” by author Erik Hofstatter, it’s a short story compilation and I’m already on the second story. So far, very entertaining and extremely well written. It’s only $2.99 on Kindle/Amazon- give it a go today!

Live Humbly, Be Charitable, Read Lots,

Sparky

*PHOTO courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net “Smiling Young Woman Showing Books” by imagerymajestic

About SparkyLeeGeek

I'm a cheesy broad with a good sense of humor. I'm also a self professed geek, dog lover, Whovian and music snob. I have earned money by painting, I've worked in call centers, with dogs and in the fitness industry. I also write for Bubblews http://www.bubblews.com/account/165359-sparkylee74 and I have 2 separate blogs on Blogger: "My Whovian Take" a blog dedicated to Doctor Who and "Life in Fog Goggles" a blog dedicated to daily life and living with Fibromyalgia and CFIDS. I will be featured in an upcoming Anthology for HorrorAddicts.net titled "The Horror Addict's Guide to Life" My interests range from Doctor Who, dogs, and Science Fiction to Zombies, Humor and Astronomy. Creativity is my passion.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Books, E Books, Fiction, Reading, Zombie Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

