My Love Affair with the Timey Wimey

My New Journals

My New Journals

I was four years old when I met my first Doctor on the CBC here in Canada; my mother who was big in to Science Fiction and anything of the bizarre had it on one or twice; that would have been around 1978/1979 just before I started school.  I wanted to watch it again but I never knew what time it was on and there was no consistent schedule leaving it to late at night.

When I was 8, I received my very first television set; it was black and white and took some time to warm up but it was then I discovered Doctor Who was on the CBC at midnight and in the summers, I begged to stay up late in order to catch it from time to time.  It seemed to just be a filler show for us here in Canada during these years but I am proud to say that my first Doctor was Tom Baker.  The genuine article with his crazy long scarf and facial expressions that still make me giggle to this day.

Years had passed since I had seen Doctor Who and I’m embarrassed to say, I forgot about it.  In my early thirties I rediscovered the show, the Doctor, now being played by David Tennant, and I remembered why I enjoyed it so much as a kid.  It’s whimsical, funny, full of imagination, unique stories, unbelievable creatures from the minds of geniuses that you can watch evolve over the years to the now refined and well done, exponentially improved creatures/villains we see on the series today.

I was hooked immediately.  I finished out Tennant’s series (Doctor #10) with mixed feelings.  On one hand I was angry and sad because Tennant was clearly born to play this role, I was sad that he was leaving as clearly didn’t want to leave, his last line prior to regeneration IS actually, “I don’t want go.”  No one was going to be able to fill his “sand shoes” or converse sneakers- cream colored or red depending on the time period and suit he is wearing.  And no one pulls off 3D glasses like David Tennant.  I cried.  Yes, I cried like a little Whovian bitch and out of protest I actually refused to watch Matt Smith carry on (and probably ruin) the role of the Doctor.

I gave in out of curiosity and admittedly at first, I thought he was way too goofy. As time went on, I think for many of us, he just melded in to that role and charmed the pants off of everyone.  Even Doctor Who Merchandise sales shot WAY up with the new handsome young Doctor, obviously bringing in a whole new demographic.  Looking back now I think this was a genius move, choosing Smith for the role and although I LOVED all the stories written by Russel T. Davies I think Stephen Moffat has brought a whole new aspect to the show.  He leaves us hanging by the seat of our pants, he likes to mess with the fans with revealing story lines, holding back just enough to make us tune in again next Saturday.  The action scenes and effects have taken a huge leap forward losing some of the original cheesiness that the show had been known for.  He’s turned it in to an entirely different series and I personally, am a big fan.

I can’t go a day without watching Doctor Who in SOME form or capacity; whether I’m watching the Classics with Baker, Pertwee or Davison or re watching this season or going over old Doctor Who Confidential episodes; I have hundreds of Doctor Who books and have begun a nice collection of memorabilia.  Earlier with my Disoronno, I used Dalek and TARDIS ice cubes.  My girlfriend and I have Doctor Who everything, our whole bathroom in TARDIS themed, we have shirts, posters, framed pictures, jewellery, magnets, journals, blankets, sonic screwdrivers, bedside lamps… The list goes on and on. This is a show we enjoy together and our home shows it.  We have both been Whovians for a long time and we kind of see it not just as an interest, but rather a lifestyle.

Our Whovian Tree

Our Whovian Tree

Many are divided on their opinions of the latest Doctor, number 12 portrayed by actor Peter Capaldi but I think he’s doing a phenomenal job.  He’s bringing back the darkness, the mysterious-ness, intrigue and the realist attitude reminiscent of the original Doctor played by William Hartnell (only Capaldi is far more handsome).  To these fans that are stuck on the current Doctor’s age, need I remind you that
A) He has lived for over 2000 years and
B) when he was first introduced to us in 1963 he came with a grand daughter.  So…basically… Get over it.  Capaldi is fantastic and the Christmas Special blew me away to the point where I watched it three times and I feel once more coming.  With the recent news that Jenna Coleman has signed on for season 9, I simply CANNOT WAIT to see what happens next season!

Are you a Whovian? If not, what are you waiting for??

Robot Sparky

Images are mine except for “Robot” which is courtesy of http://doctor-who-collectors.wikia.com/wiki/Robot_%28DVD%29

About SparkyLeeGeek

I'm a cheesy broad with a good sense of humor. I'm also a self professed geek, dog lover, Whovian and music snob. I have earned money by painting, I've worked in call centers, with dogs and in the fitness industry. I also write for Bubblews http://www.bubblews.com/account/165359-sparkylee74 and I have 2 separate blogs on Blogger: "My Whovian Take" a blog dedicated to Doctor Who and "Life in Fog Goggles" a blog dedicated to daily life and living with Fibromyalgia and CFIDS. I will be featured in an upcoming Anthology for HorrorAddicts.net titled "The Horror Addict's Guide to Life" My interests range from Doctor Who, dogs, and Science Fiction to Zombies, Humor and Astronomy. Creativity is my passion.
This entry was posted in Doctor Who, Fandom, love, television, Whovians and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

