I May Be a Hoarder…

 

Hoarding

Hoarding. According to Merriam Webster means: “a temporary board fence put about a building being erected or repaired” Hmmm.
Okay, so the Urban Dictionary describes a “Hoarder” as “anyone that feels the need to find, collect, keep, pack ANY and EVERYTHING because they do not know how to throw things away”

 

Matt from “Hoarders”

In my defense, I do know how to throw things away, I do it frequently actually. It’s just certain items that I cannot part with.

This is a term we have recently adopted with the successes of such self help shows as “Hoarders” and “Hoarding: Buried Alive” which I am guilty of watching.
I’m not anal-y clean but I am fairly tidy. Things have their places and I make my bed and do my dishes everyday. My bathroom is not scuzzy by any means and you could eat directly off my counters, that being said I do have a nasty hoarding problem. Media.
My girlfriend recently accused me of being a “Media Hoarder” to which I responded with a resounding laugh and guffaw, and then I thought about it as I held my external hard drive filled with every season of “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia”, “Game of Thrones”, “True Blood” about a dozen of my favorite movies and 52 years of Doctor Who. I then reluctantly opened my “books” file on my laptop to see over 3000 titles. Glancing across the room I see all my books and basically anything with Doctor Who on it.


Okay so maybe I have a problem. When a friend asked me if I wanted some books and old mystery magazines I responded with a colossal, “YES PLEASE!” Now I’m thinking the girlfriend won’t be too pleased when I roll up with more bags of books like I’m preparing for some kind of reading holocaust where books, magazines and general reading material won’t be made readily available to the general masses.

 

Book Club

I haven’t always had the Internet, before I had to rely on the public library with their ridiculous time constraints. How is one supposed to get through and understand Stephen Hawking’s “A Brief History of Time” in a couple of weeks? That’s theoretical physics, it takes understanding and yes I know I can book it out again but some guy wants it so now I’ll never know how it ends! I bought a lot of used books at some of the now closed quaint bookstores in downtown Halifax, I bought books at flea markets and whenever I got a pay check, that meant one new book. Then I got in to E Readers. Wow!! Digital books are EVERYWHERE! In the last 18 mos, according to my “GoodReads” account, I have read 58 titles! I then begun to find free sites to get books and now, as previously stated, I have a library consisting of over 3000 titles.

I am currently reading my second book of the account of the Dyatlov Pass Incident that occurred in the 1959. If you haven’t heard of this, I urge you to look it up. It’s one of the most mysterious cases I have ever studied. Ten (highly experienced hiking and skiing) students go off for an excursion to the Ural Mountains bordering Russia and Siberia and are never heard from again. When the bodies are eventually discovered, they learn that they had slashed outward through their tent (as if scared by something) running out in horrendously cold conditions barely clothed, some barefoot in to the elements for some unknown reason. The bodies were found with multiple fractures, broken ribs, missing eyes and one girl even had her tongue torn out. The bodies were reported by onlookers to be orange in color and have had graying hair. No one has ever determined how or why this happened. It’s a remarkably interesting case. I really recommend the books, “Dead Mountain” by Donnie Eichar and “Mountain of the Dead” by Keith McCloskey. Excellent reads. The authors traversed the same paths as the dead hikers and release some now declassified information and photos. Fascinating stuff!

 

Me

So I hoard media. You never know when life could change (as mine frequently does) and you’ll find yourself without Internet. At least I can rest easy knowing I will still have all my books and shows to read and watch. I have no shame in digital hoarding, let’s face it, it takes up way less space and requires far less dusting.
With so much to read and such a limited lifetime, I better get reading! Do you hoard media too? Are you waiting for the media holocaust? What do you like to hoard?

 

Live Humbly, Be Charitable, Hoard On,

Sparky

 

IMAGES Courtesy of:

“I’ll see you when I see you” Meme http://appraisingpages.com/2013/08/30/funny-book-meme-friday-part-v/

“First Rule of Book Club” Meme *Pinterest

“Picking Five Favorite Books…” *Pinterest

“That Bitch has a lot of Shit…” *Reddit

“You are one stack of shit…” http://www.killthehydra.com/tag/relationships/

About SparkyLeeGeek

I'm a cheesy broad with a good sense of humor. I'm also a self professed geek, dog lover, Whovian and music snob. I have earned money by painting, I've worked in call centers, with dogs and in the fitness industry. I also write for Bubblews http://www.bubblews.com/account/165359-sparkylee74 and I have 2 separate blogs on Blogger: "My Whovian Take" a blog dedicated to Doctor Who and "Life in Fog Goggles" a blog dedicated to daily life and living with Fibromyalgia and CFIDS. I will be featured in an upcoming Anthology for HorrorAddicts.net titled "The Horror Addict's Guide to Life" My interests range from Doctor Who, dogs, and Science Fiction to Zombies, Humor and Astronomy. Creativity is my passion.
This entry was posted in Books, E Books, Hoarding, humor, Reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I May Be a Hoarder…

  1. Hey Sparky! If you are going to hoard anything let it be media especially books. The internet may implode someday and we’ll have to start over, you’ll be ahead of the game. 😉

Leave a Reply

